Hessdalen field research by Italian scientists - Hessdalen Germany

Go to content

Main menu

Hessdalen field research by Italian scientists

Project EMBLA

Results

Criticism

After suffering from little financial support since the late 80th, international cooperation is pushing scientific efforts since the 90th. In line with a cooperation with the Institute for Radio Astronomy of Bologna addional equipment and observers have been available between 2000 and 2004. Amongst other instruments, a radar and VLF (Very Low Frequency) receivers have been used. Field work was conducted during several weeks in summer.

Links
Preliminary report from 2002
Final report from 2004

 

General
The Hessdalen Lights are not a single phenomenon but different phenomena. The light can consist of several smaller units, which can seperate from each other and fly into different directions. There is no correlation to solar activity.

Photometrie
Photometric measurements suggest that the lights produce an energie up to 100 kilowatt.

Radar
The phenomenon can produce echoes on radar even when it is not visible. This indicates highly ionized air.

VLF emissions
Several times periodically shifted signals have been recorded in the 1-2 kHz range. In an article published in the Journal of Scientific Exploration Massimo Teodorani from the Intitute for Radio Astronomy in Medicina is interpreting these measurements as doppler signals which "could be explained neither by known natural signals nor by man-made signals". In a paper published in 2005 however, his colleagues Renato Romero and Jader Monari are concluding that all VLF signals recorded during the campaign can probably be explained by man-made sources.

The sceptical scientist Matteo Leone showed that a certain amount of the EMLBA observations could be explained by car lights. The responsible scientist Massimo Teodorani could not provide convincing argument against Leone´s claims. Instead, he pointed to the considerable number of undoubted measurements.

The opinion of Hessdalen Germany: Misinterpretations of car lights cast a shadow on research on the Hessdalen Phenomenon. It should be attempted to avoid such kind of confusions in publications.

 
 
 
Back to content | Back to main menu

Italientisches Feldforschungsprojekt in Hessdalen - Hessdalen Germany

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt

Hauptmenü

Italientisches Feldforschungsprojekt in Hessdalen

Projekt EMBLA

Ergebnisse

Kritik

Nachdem die Feldforschung in Hessdalen seit Ende der 80er Jahre unter Budgetzwängen gelitten hatte, wird seit Ende der 90er versucht, Untersuchungen vor Ort durch internationale Kooperationen voranzutreiben. Im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Radioastronomie in Bologna waren von 2000-2004 zusätzliche Messgeräte und Beobachter im Einsatz. Unter anderem kamen ein Radargerät und ein VLF-Empfänger zum Einsatz. Die Arbeit vor Ort erfolgte in mehrwöchigen Beobachtungsphasen in den Sommermonaten.

Links
Zwischenbericht aus dem Jahr 2002
Abschlussbericht aus dem Jahr 2004

 

Allgemein
Bei den Hessdalenlichtern handelt es sich nicht um ein einzelnes Phänomen, sondern um verschiedene Phänomene. Das Licht kann aus mehreren kleineren Einheiten bestehen, die sich trennen und auseinanderfliegen können. Es ist kein Zusammenhang mit der Sonnenaktivität nachweisbar.

Fotometrie
Fotometrischen Messungen zufolge setzen die Lichter eine Energie von bis zu 100 Kilowatt frei.

Radar
Das Phänomen produziert auch dann Radarechos, wenn es nicht oder kaum sichtbar ist. Dies ist ein Hinweis auf starke Ionisation.

VLF-Emissionen
Im Frequenzbereich von 1-2 kHz wurden mehrfach periodisch verschobene Signale empfangen. Massimo Teodorani vom Institut für Radioastronomie in Medicina vertritt in einem im Jahr 2004 im Journal of Scientific Exploration veröffentlichten Artikel die Auffassung, dass es sich um Doppler-Signale handele, die keiner bekannten natürlichen oder menschlichen Quelle zugeordnet werden könnten. In einem im Jahr 2005 veröffentlichten Paper gelangen seine Instituts-Kollegen Renato Romero und Jader Monari jedoch zu der Auffassung, dass sich sämtliche im VLF-Bereich gemessenen Signale durch menschliche Einflüsse wie z.B. Hochspannungsleitungen erklären lassen.

Der skeptische Forscher Matteo Leone konnte zeigen, dass ein gewisser Anteil der Beobachtungen auf Autoscheinwerfer zurückzuführen ist. Der verantwortliche Wissenschaftler Massimo Teodorani konnte diesen Vorwurf nicht entkräften. Stattdessen verwies er auf die Fülle der nicht anzweifelbaren Messungen.

Die Meinung von Hessdalen Germany: Für die öffentliche Wahrnehmung des Themas ist es äußerst unglücklich, wenn durch Verwechslungen des Phänomens mit Autoscheinwerfern die Hessdalen-Forschung in Misskredit gerät. Wer das Hessdalen-Phänomen untersucht, sollte alles tun, um derartige Verwechslungen zu vermeiden.

 
 
 
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt | Zurück zum Hauptmenü